2019... A summary   31/12/2019

A summary of the year about to be past…

Captain James McGuire’s Captains Prize was won by Brendan Reilly while Lady Captain Rita Walsh’s Prize was won by 2020 Lady Captain Bernie McAndrew.

President Vincent Fahy’s Prizes were won by Martin Cosgrove and Aisling Fingleton respectively.

Damien Murphy won the Strokeplayer of the Year while Noel McLoughlin prevailed in a very tight battle over Martin Cosgrove and Cormac O Muirithe to win the Golfer of the Year.

In the Ladies Club Helen Comiskey was a dual winner,winning both the Golfer of the Year and the Strokeplayer of the Year.

Cormac won the novelty ‘twos’competition with 9 of them in the Golfer of the Year Competitions.

The breakdown of the twos this year, were that there were 144 of them compared to 171 in 2018.

There were 29 at the 2nd , 1 at the 5th (Cormac) ,21 at the 7th , 36 at the 14th , 56 at the 16th and 1 at the 17th (Noel)

Jason Padden won the Club Championship, Ivan Barrett the Erris Cup and Kevin Conroy the Eamon MacNicholas Cup.

Success in the Inter Club competitions was very limited and in the Grainne Uaile the Men trailed both the winners Achill and the runners-up Mulranny. That said, the Ladies almost won the Ladies Grainne Uaile for the first time in a number of years. Had the first leg in Carne not been reduced to 9 holes  they may very well have gained the extra two points required to win.

On a sad note the Annual Mass for deceased members of the Club, held in November had one new name added to the list, that of Life Member Jack Kilroy.

It has to be said the links itself was in tremendous condition throughout the year, particularly the tees and when we’re complimenting the tees it goes without saying that the greens need no commentary. Great credit to Fergus and Gary ..and please give them all the help you can by replacing divots and repairing pitch marks on the greens,even if they’re not your own!

We look forward to the year ahead with Captain Vincent Keane, Lady Captain Bernie McAndrew (for the second time) and President Sheila Tallott (who has been Captain on two occasions also)and wish them every success.

We also wish Erris Tourism a successful year ahead ,particularly with the marketing of the Links and the associated 'course revenue' that derives from that.

Happy Golfing to everyone in 2020 !!

(from all at the website)

Pictured:The 2019 Club President Vincent Fahy and the Mens Captain James McGuire on the occasion of Vincent's Competitions on June 30th

Upcoming Events